Legal Question in Criminal Law in Texas


My name is Maria and I have a question about age of consent.

I live in San Antonio and I am 17 and my boyfriend just recently turned 20 in Dec. n i am currently pregnant by him but i am under state custody but i engaged in sexual acts at 17 and now CPS are trying to charge him for rape is it possible for them to charge when i stated to engage at 17 ?

Asked on 1/10/13, 12:49 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Cynthia Henley Cynthia Henley, Lawyer
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

CPS does not charge anyone with crimes; only police with the consent of prosecutors.

If you did not have sex when you were under 17, then there is no crime.

Read more
Answered on 1/11/13, 8:12 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Texas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now