Texas | Criminal Law
Legal Question
how long does a possesion charge stay on your record
how long does a misdeamenor charge of marjuiana stay on your record. never did time for the crime but was arrested.have a job looking into criminal history happened six years ago.if still on record how can i get rid of it.please help, do not want to loss my job.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Jeff Kennedy |
Re: how long does a possesion charge stay on your record The answer to your question will probably depend on how your possession of marijuana case was ultimately disposed of. If you were arrested, but never formally charged with the offense, then your records of arrest may be eligible for an Expunction. Expunction is a legal procedure where all the records relating to the arrest are destroyed. If an expunction is granted, you may deny that the arrest ever occurred. However, if you entered a plea, whether guilty or no contest, the arrest records are not likely eligible for expunction. Essentially, misdemeanor arrests may be expunged if: 1. arrest and no formal charges filed; 2. arrest and acquittal (not guilty verdict); or 3. arrest and an outright dismissal that did not involve court ordered probation; and 4. there was not a felony conviction 5 years preceding the date of arrest for the offense in which expunction is being sought.
If any of the above four scenarios apply to your case, you may be eligible for an expunction of your arrest records. This is the only way that the record of arrest can be eliminated from your record. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at my office (817) 460-7171.
Sincerely,
Jeff C. Kennedy Kennedy & Kennedy 625 West Main Street Arlington, Texas 76010 |
Top Attorneys in TX
Langford Law Firm
Plano, TX
Questions Answered: 5365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Law Office of S. Keith Engelke
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 1565
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
The Ryals Law Firm
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1216
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Cynthia Henley, Lawyer
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 1110
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
The Brashear Law Firm, PLLC
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 923
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
The Baez Law Firm, P.C.
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 840
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-28
The Lee Law Firm
Austin, TX
Questions Answered: 567
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Bob Leonard Law Group, PLLC
Fort Worth, TX
Questions Answered: 490
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-16
LAW OFFICE OF ERICK PLATTEN
Tyler, TX
Questions Answered: 465
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-27
Law Office of Robert H. Tuthill
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 425
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-28
Search Questions and Answers


