Texas | Criminal Law
1/28/10, 10:51 am
Legal Question
If you were paying on a nsf check and only had $300. left on the balance can they charge you with a misdemeanor a?
If you were paying on a nsf check and only had $300. left on the balance can they charge you with a misdemeanor a?
|
Read More Answered By: Jeffrey Brashear |
Based on what you have written, the bad check charge can be based off the original amount which may justify a Class A Misdemeanor charge. There are many factors which are considered by the prosecuting attorney's office as to what level of charge to proceed with against an individual. You should consider consulting with a local law firm to assist you with this legal matter. If my local law firm can assist you with this legal issue or any other legal matter, please contact us at lawguru@jbrashearlaw.com to arrange for an initial consultation. |
|
Read More Answered By: Paul Walcutt |
For this matter to merit a Class A check, the amount of the hot check would have to be above $500. If it was below that amount, then only a Class B charge would be justified by the facts.
I would suggest speaking to a local criminal defense attorney. He or she can give you a better idea of what your options are and whether your current case is appropriately charged. |
Plano, TX
Questions Answered: 5365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 1565
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1216
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 1110
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 923
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 840
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-28
Austin, TX
Questions Answered: 567
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Fort Worth, TX
Questions Answered: 490
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-16
Tyler, TX
Questions Answered: 465
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-27
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 425
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-28
► I'm currently being considered for a position in "IRAQ" with a large...
► Someone impersonated a public official and sent me a letter. This is someone I am...
► Can I get a Class B misdemeanor sealed after a certain amount of time?
► My daughter has been harassed and threatened by text message and at school by...
► My husband has been to prison before and was out on parole and just now went back to...
► Trying to find out if a Misdemeanour conviction for Marajuana Delivery(less than 1/4...
► My finance made some mistakes a few years ago, since then has been through the navy,...
More Criminal Law questions and answers in Texas| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press