Legal Question in Criminal Law in Texas

I have a serious situation that is haunting me. I have never been arrested or convicted of any crime in the state of Texas. In 12/2005, I found out that I have a theft of check for $20.00 and it is listed as a Class B misdeameanor. In 12/07, a warrant was placed on me for my arrest. I do not know what this is nor do I know which arresting agency filed it. It is not listed as a conviction since I was never arrested. Nevertheless in 2/2007, I was hired by CVS Pharmacy as a manager and as a cashier at Walmart. I recently got laid off from CVS and left Walmart in 2007. I have started looking for work and all of a sudden, I cannot get gainful employment. Is there any way to rectify this situation because I have never had any issues with checks and I truly dont know what this is. I cannot afford a attorney and I was thinking about getting an Legal Aid. What should I do? I need employment and this is holding me back tremendously.

Asked on 10/26/11, 1:32 pm

2 Answer from Attorneys

James Bayles The Bayles Law Firm
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Find out who holds the bad check and pay it off. You can contact the prosecutor and agree to surrender and make restitution. Bottom line is if you have a bad check you must pay it

Read more
10/26/11, 1:46 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Texas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8782 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now