Texas | Criminal Law
Legal Question
In Texas.
Part 1:
My stepson is 23 years old.
He lives in our house.
Because of ongoing immigration issues he cannot work until he receives his green card.
Therefore he has no income, and at the same time no expenses.
I give him 50 dollars every two weeks for incidentals.
Part 2:
He has been charged with a felony. (aggravated assault w/deadly weapon (Bottle) during a bar fight).
He does not have money for an attorney or an interpreter (Russian language)
And I don't want to pay for his lawyer.
The court gave him a paper to fill out. (Indigence Form)
They told him to fill it out and then told me I had to include my income information too.
I don't believe this is correct.
Why should I have to put my information down as I have no intention of paying for his lawyer? He is an adult who simply lives in my home.


