Texas | DUI Law
Legal Question
What if I filed for divorce and then my lawyer withdrew on me but the case is still in the courts and the husband still has his lawyer (but his lawyer isn't exactly a strong divorce lawyer and it seems he has been avoiding my husband's calls lately) and I decide to leave the state? One of the reasons I filed was because I wasn't in agreement moving to this state. My marriage has been an abusive one for 15 years. So when the husband moved me to his home state and then isn't even here because he travels in his job, I went to get a consult after only being in the state of Texas for a month. The lawyer give me a choice to file or leave his office. Unfortunately, I was vulnerable at the time and filed. My lawyer told me all these goods things and then it all turned around. In the temporary orders it states I have the right to take my son and live in any geographical location in the US, but what happens to the child support and other orders if I leave? My husband has agreed to a settlement with me and wants his lawyer to handle the agreement but he could be lying. Because he has been abusive in the past, there was a restraining order. Right now he pays the rent on the house, my car payment and child support. What happens to the temporary orders if I leave and go back to my home state which is FL?
Becca


