Texas  |  Family Law

question bubble
11/13/09, 11:28 am

Legal Question


In 2002 a woman announced to me that she was pregnant and that I was the father of her child. I had serious doubts that her claim was true but nonetheless, filed a suit to establish paternity and gain custody of the child.

In retrospect, this was a mistake on my part - subsequent paternity testing showed that I was not the child's father. I should have waited until after the baby was born and not filed anything.

The court ruled that I was not the father and on my request ordered the child's last name be changed to his mother's last name... and that was that.

My question is: Is there a way to get the records of the case sealed? Since I'm not the father, there seems to me there is little public benefit in having access to the case records.


Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search