Texas | Family Law
Legal Question
I was divorced in Harris County, Houston Tx. I am now liveing in Travis County, Austin, TX. I need to know how I go about changing my legal name to what it was before I married. What forms do I need, or any contact information you can give me. I cannot go back to Harris County to do this.
Where do I start??? Thank You..
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Mark Dunn |
You don't have to go back to Harris County to have your name changed. You file a petition for a name change in the County where you live. You should really hire a lawyer to do this. The petition looks something like this:
PETITION FOR NAME CHANGE OF ADULT
TO THE HONORABLE JUDGE OF SAID COURT:
COMES NOW <>, hereinafter referred to as Petitioner, and files this her petition for name change, and would show the Court as follows: 1. Petitioner’s legal name is <>. Petitioner is of the <> race. 2. Petitioner was born on <>. Petitioner’s Texas driver’s license number is <>. Petitioner has not had any other driver’s license issued in this state or any other state in the past ten years. 3. Petitioner’s social security number is <>. 4. Petitioner’s home address is <>.
5. Petitioner requests that the Court change her name to
6. The reason for the name change is 7. Petitioner has never been the subject of a final felony conviction and has never been charged with a crime. Petitioner has never been assigned an FBI number, state identification number, or any other reference number in a criminal history record system. 8. Petitioner is not subject to the registration requirements of Chapter 62, Code of Criminal Procedure. 9. Attached hereto as Exhibit “A” is Petitioner’s fingerprint card.
WHEREFORE, PREMISES CONSIDERED, Petitioner requests that the Court change her name.
VERIFICATION
On
_____________________________________
SUBSCRIBED and SWORN TO before me on <>, 2009, to certify which witness my hand and seal of office.
_____________________________________ Notary Public
Respectfully submitted,
___________________
|
Top Attorneys in TX
Langford Law Firm
Plano, TX
Questions Answered: 5365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
BUSHMAN LAW OFFICES
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 1632
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-19
Law Office of S. Keith Engelke
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 1565
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
The Ryals Law Firm
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1216
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
The Brashear Law Firm, PLLC
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 923
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
The Baez Law Firm, P.C.
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 840
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-28
Power Daley PLLC
Plano, TX
Questions Answered: 651
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-04
The Lee Law Firm
Austin, TX
Questions Answered: 567
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Bob Leonard Law Group, PLLC
Fort Worth, TX
Questions Answered: 490
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-16
Search Questions and Answers


