Texas | Family Law
Legal Question
I own my home. When I got married my wife took it upon herself to make certain improvements even tho I protested. Divorcing now, am I liable for those improvements?
I own my home. When I got married my wife took it upon herself to make certain improvements even tho I protested. Divorcing now, am I liable for those improvements?
|
Read More Answered By: Theresa Langford |
Am not sure what you mean by 'liable' for the improvements. In a very general sense, if the house was yours prior to marriage, then it would be separate property. The community estate may be entitled to reimbursement if the separate property was enhanced by community funds. |
Plano, TX
Questions Answered: 5365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 1632
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-19
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 1565
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1215
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 923
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 840
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-28
Plano, TX
Questions Answered: 651
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-04
Austin, TX
Questions Answered: 567
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Fort Worth, TX
Questions Answered: 490
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-16
► In April of this year, I went into mediation for child custody and visitation...
► I have joint custody of my daughter here in Texas. The father gave primary residence...
► I am in the final stages of my divorce,.. My spouse and i has been married for 23...
► A lady friend of mine needs advice about leaving an abusive relationship. She is in...
► My ex husband is remarried and sueing me for child support he has paid to me...
► I can not afford an attorney. We live pay check by pay check. My grandson was taken...
► I have one of my kids in texas with me,he s father is trying 2 get me arrested...
More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Texas| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press