Texas | Federal Tort Claims
Legal Question
Palimony laws in Texas
Are there palimony laws in Texas and how long do you have to be together for them to effect someone?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Charles Aspinwall |
Re: Palimony laws in Texas The so-called "Palimony" law is really a common law concept which provides equity for two partners in their relationship.
Holding yourselves out as husband and wife if regularly done over a period of time could result in a common law marriage situation which could give rise to community property issues - joint ownership of assets because of living together as a community.
The only guarantees against being in an asset/liability division situation upon the break up of the realtionship is to have a pre-nuptial agreement in place before moving in together. |
Top Attorneys in TX
The Ryals Law Firm
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1216
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
The Baez Law Firm, P.C.
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 840
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-28
The Lee Law Firm
Austin, TX
Questions Answered: 567
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Cheng Copeland PLLC
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 419
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-24
Attorney at Law
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 281
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-11
Law Office of Michael D.J. Eisenberg, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Stephens & Stephens
Richmond, TX
Questions Answered: 92
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-01-22
Singhal & Associates
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 30
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-07-19
Law Firm of David H. Stokes
Stephenville, TX
Questions Answered: 13
Last Question Aswered on: 2001-01-30
Search Questions and Answers


