Texas | Federal Tort Claims
Legal Question
Tort Claim
In 1997 I filed a Federal Tort Claim as a result of permanent injuries caused by a military doctor. He refused to send me to a specialist I am required to see and delayed my treatment for about 6 months. I ended up legally blind as a result of this, I have rare congenital defects of my eyes that require monitoring by specialists. I had an attorney for about two years of this process and when the claims attorney wrote him that he was going to send my claim forward as being denied, my lawyer ''dumped'' me. I wrote the claims attorney just in time to stop him from forwarding the recommendation for denial. He said that something I said in the letter required him to go back and interview certain doctors. The army then wanted another review of my medical records. I found this out in July. In September, I contacted the claims attorney again for an update and he said they were trying to find a retina specialist to review my records. After this I hear nothing until this week. I was told a military retinal specialist is reviewing my records. How fair is this? They tend to side with the other military doctors and protect each other. How long can they drag this out?


