Texas  |  Health Care Law

question bubble
10/16/09, 3:23 pm

Legal Question


Patient calls into office in pain. Dr. is not in nor can he be reached. Medical assistnat calls in a prescription for pain that the Dr. had noted in file. Result, patient

admitted to ER in what appeared to be an anaphylactic reaction. She is found to be in respiratory failure and intubated. Put in ICU and later died. What type of case is this: Civil or Criminal, What kind of tort?


question bubble
10/21/09, 4:46 pm

Legal Answer


This is a "civil" case called a "health care liability claim" (commonly known as "medical malpractice") and requires the skills of an experienced personal injury attorney. These cases are highly complex and difficult, so please DO NOT attempt to handle this on your own.

Dan Street

Street Law Firm 13101 Preston Road, Suite 600 Dallas, TX 75240-5232

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search