Texas  |  Immigration Law

question bubble
8/21/09, 8:07 am

Legal Question


Hi. My boyfriend and I are engaged and don't know where or when to get married. He is a US citizen and I am a UK citizen with a Dutch passport (Dutch parents, born in UK) and a B1/2 tourist visa, valid for 10 years. We will be spending the next year in England, and then about six months of the following year in Texas while he finishes his studies. After that he will apply for jobs in the US and UK, and we don't know where we'll end up.

My question is this - is there an advantage for us in getting married in one country or the other? In two years' time one of us will have to apply for an immigrant visa. Also, if we get married next summer, will I be able to use my visitors' visa to go with him to Texas for six months after that? Or should we wait until after that for the wedding? I would rather not be in a situation in which I cannot leave the States for a time until he has a job there, if it happens, and we would like to minimise visa fees.

Any help would be much appreciated! Thanks very much.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search