Texas  |  Insurance Law

question bubble
10/17/07, 5:11 pm

Legal Question


medical insurance coverage

My question is regarding medical insurance coverage here in Texas.

My bother had back surgery on Sept 10, and has been on medical leave since then. He is still under medical supervision. The corporation he works for knew that he was going to have back surgery. It doesn’t take a rocket scientist to see that back surgeries take long time to recover. Unfortunately, today he found out that his medical coverage had been cancel since Sept 30. He called his HR department and they told him that the company could cancel the medical insurance with out any notice at anytime. I called his company corp. headquarters and they told me that they had canceled his medical insurance because he had been out of work for long time. I also asked them why they didn’t let him know in advance so he could had made the proper arrangements so that he would not had ended up with medial insurance. His corp. headquarters’ response was that since he had just inquired today about his insurance they were bareky going send him the notification and that if he want insurance coverage he would have to pay the cobra insurance.

I think that this company acted on bad faith by by cancelling his medical insurance. what can he do.


question bubble
10/17/07, 5:15 pm

Legal Answer


Re: medical insurance coverage

If the facts are as you say...company cannot cancel...and they can be liable ..so see a lawyer in your area...

Donald McLeaish

McLeaish&Associates;, P.C.
402 West Wheatland
Duncanville, TX 75116

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
10/17/07, 5:25 pm

Legal Answer


Re: medical insurance coverage

There are many good lawyers in the Laredo area. Call around and ask for a consultation. Good Luck.

James Grissom

Law Office of James P. Grissom
3507 West Alberta Rd.
Edinburg,, TX 78539

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search