Texas | Intellectual Property
Legal Question
I own a graphic design firm. I recently fired an employee. Does he have the right to publish work done for my clients during employment at my company?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Bruce Burdick |
He might, as your ownership is not automatic. If you had the right Employee Agreement then NO, he wouldn't have such rights. If you did not any Agreement, then he may own the Copyright and not you. Also, it depends on what you mean by"publish". See a copyright attorney so he can review the specifics and let you know. There is a so-called "Work for Hire" provision in the copyright law that needs to be applied to your situation to determine who owns this. There may be some confidentiality, trade secret, or even trademark aspects that could affect the outcome, but I doubt it from what you have briefly said. An intellectual property lawyer should be able to advise you fully. |
Top Attorneys in TX
David L. Leon, P.C.
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 1828
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
The Ryals Law Firm
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1216
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Burdick Law Firm
Alton, IL
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-06
Mathis & Donheiser
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 394
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-09-29
Charles J. Williamson, Attorney At Law
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 325
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-20
Bennett, Weston, & LaJone, P.C.
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 131
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-08-15
Paul C. Velte IV, Attorney at Law
San Marcos, TX
Questions Answered: 62
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-01-06
Taggart Morton
New Orleans, LA
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-02
Singhal & Associates
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 30
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-07-19
Search Questions and Answers


