Texas | Intellectual Property
Legal Question
Is it legal or ethical to use actual historical persons as characters in a novel of fiction?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Bruce Burdick |
Yes, provided you clearly indicate that the work is fictional. Satirical works can do this even with current celebreties. You should also clearly state whether or not the actual historical person has or has not authorized this use, especially if he or she has not authorized the novel. |
Top Attorneys in TX
David L. Leon, P.C.
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 1828
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
The Ryals Law Firm
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1216
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Burdick Law Firm
Alton, IL
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-06
Mathis & Donheiser
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 394
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-09-29
Charles J. Williamson, Attorney At Law
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 325
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-20
Bennett, Weston, & LaJone, P.C.
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 131
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-08-15
Paul C. Velte IV, Attorney at Law
San Marcos, TX
Questions Answered: 62
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-01-06
Taggart Morton
New Orleans, LA
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-02
Singhal & Associates
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 30
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-07-19
Search Questions and Answers


