Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Texas

Hello, My name is Bradford Banky. I currently live in a very dangerous apartment complex. Shootings, people held up at gun point in the parking lots, drug dealers, monthly break-ins of apartments and cars. Two months ago, my manager said she would let me break my lease. Since then, I have been put on wait lists for many senior apartment communities. Two days ago, one of the senior communities called me and they have an apartment for me now. Yesterday I talked with my manager where I live now, and now she told me she is not going to let me out of my lease. If she does not let me out of my lease, the new manager at the senior community will not let me move in, since I will be breaking a lease where I live now. I need to move now, to a place where I can be safe and live with civilized people. I am very scared living here, and every night before going to bed I wedge a chair under the front door knob. Is there anything you can suggest to help me? Thankou, Bradford Banky

Asked on 9/07/13, 3:00 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Cynthia Henley Cynthia Henley, Lawyer
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Just asking nicely to be let out because legally they can hold you to your lease full term.

Read more
9/09/13, 2:45 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Texas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8822 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now