Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Texas

I am moving out of state and have to break my lease. There is a new renter that will be moving in the day after I leave. Also, I found this new renter so there was no cost to the landlord. He still wants to charge me a re-letting fee. Can he do this? I have asked him for an itemized statement of re-letting expenses but he has stated he will not provide. I would be willing to pay the expenses he actually incurred, i.e. credit report check, but an entire months rent as a re-letting fee seems a bit excessive. Is there anything I can do?

Asked on 7/03/13, 7:13 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Adam Kielich The Kielich Law Firm
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

It depends on what your lease states.

Read more
Answered on 7/13/13, 12:50 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Texas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now