Texas | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
I rented a property from a reality company that was the middle man between myself and the owner of the property. After I moved out I received a bill for my entire $1050 deposit plus an extra $1300. After contacting the company to ask why I have an extra $1300 on top of my deposit, the company try's to just blow me off. They tell me that is what the owner says. The owner lives out of state. It has taken over a month and a half just to hear back from the owner. The company refuses to explain why some of the charges are what they are. They have an "F" with the BBB, and other people have had problems with their deposits also. When I moved in the walls were not painted and the woodwork was not painted. They are trying to charge me $990 to paint the walls, and $660 to paint the woodwork (baseboards). I have asked them what was wrong with the baseboards because I did not do anything to them what so ever. They refuse to tell me anything at all. If I don't pay them the $1300 can they hurt my credit? I live in cypress. Tx


