settlement agreement changed
I signed a settlement Agreement and the copy I received via a fax, was different from what I signed. Would this be considered null and void? Please help
Thanks,
Sheri
|
Read More Answered By: Robert McEwen |
Re: settlement agreement changed If the changed provision is material ($5,000 instead of $50,000) It's considered a counter-offer, and is not binding. If the change is immaterial or clerical (changing one of the names because of a misspelling) then it is most likely still binding.
Make sure that you retain your copy and the copy that you received in the fax, and let the sender know that you do not accept the counter offer(unless, of course, you do accept) and ask that they sign the original that you sent them. If they do not, then most likely there is no contract. |
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1216
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 923
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 840
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-28
Alton, IL
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-06
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 419
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-24
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 394
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-09-29
Plano, TX
Questions Answered: 88
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-09-10
Fort Worth, TX
Questions Answered: 63
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-08
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 54
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-28
Washington Dc, DC
Questions Answered: 46
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
► Non profit organization assets We are members of a Church in Houston Texas and...
► Renting a dance hall with no contract Can I receive all the money I have given minus...
► Iou I live in Texas. I loaned 30k to a person in Maine. I received 20k back, but am...
► Who gets the car? my boyfriend bought me a car for my birthday. my name is first on...
► Father wonchildcustodybattle I asked thefather to keep thechild for vacation/lived...
► Child visitation My son's father's new wife is playing buffer between he and I. I...
► Verbal Agreements several years ago our son in law came to me and asked if they...
More Mediation questions and answers in Texas| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press