Texas  |  Medical Malpractice

question bubble
10/29/09, 4:22 pm

Legal Question


I took my 16 yo daughter to her Primary Dr. last year for lower abdominal pain and rectal bleedind. He sent her to have a Colonoscopy done , which was done by a surgeon not a Gastroenterologist. The Dx. then was a little lower bowel irritation. She was placed on Antibiotics. With the medicine and my diet change she improved. But she was also diagnosed with severe Iron Def. Anemia. The Hct was 6? anad her Iron count was 0.1. She was then sent to a blood specialist who never could explain why so much blood loss but she went for weekly I.V. Iron. Her last round of Iron was about 3 months ago.

I had to take her last Sunday to the ER for severe abdominal pain and rectal bleeding. After blood work, Urinalysis and the Dr. pressing on her abd. twice. His diagnosis was bladder infection and poss internal hemorroids bleeding. Hct was slightly low. Which we had just battled severe iron def. anemia. For no know reason. I was upset at the ER because the Dr. did not examine my daughter. She was put on Flagyl and Bactrim.

Went to her Primary Dr. and he sent her to a gastroenterologist which did a colonoscopy this am and his Dx. was Inflamtory Bowel Disease and Ulcerative Colitis and perscribed Prednisone and Lialda. She has to remain on this medication for 6 months. My daughter has been in severe pain since Saturday night. She has had 10 to 15 bloody stools every day and it still hasn't stopped but hopefully now that Dr. Reddy(The Gastroenterologist ) has examined her and found the problem. She will start getting better. My Question is. Can the ER Doctor or the Doctor who first did the Colonoscopy and Missed the Diagnosis be held accountable for anything ? I just got the feeling that both of those Doctors really didn't have my daughters health and well being in mind.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search