Texas  |  Medical Malpractice

question bubble
10/08/09, 9:06 pm

Legal Question


I had some dental work done in 2001. The dentist placed a crown on my tooth and charged me for a root canal. In 2004 that same tooth became a little painful, so I went to a different dentist who xrayed it and said there was no root canal. I got my money back for the root canal from the first dentist. In June of this year, I broke the tooth in front of this crowned tooth. I went to another dentist to have it repaired. He found a massive infection involving the crowned tooth, the broken tooth and 2 teeth next to these. When he removed the crown he saw that a root canal had been started, but never finished. The original dentist drilled down into that tooth and for some reason never finished the root canal and permanently cemented a crown on there allowing the exposed nerve to fester for 8 years. Because of this infection I have lost 2 teeth, have paid thousands of dollars in dental bills, missed a lot of work due to pain and dental appointments. Since I didn't even know this had been done to be until a few months ago, do I have any chance of filing a malpractice suit against the original dentist?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search