Texas  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
10/26/09, 5:22 pm

Legal Question


On 10-17-09 my wife was hit by another driver who ran a red light, we spoke to her insurance co. who sent a rep. to our home, they accepted liability, and since my wife and I are both currently on lay off they issued a check for 1,000.00 and promised to start at 5,000.00 for dental and medical. Now we understand that we signed a release of liability, and the monies offered and given finalized the issue. Do we have additional recourse to take this farther? We would have never signed a release of liability knowing that my wife has not even seen the dentist or K clinic, my wife is still suffering from this and we have lost a great deal.


question bubble
10/31/09, 5:44 pm

Legal Answer


I would have to see the release that you each signed. This is, unfortunately, a common practice with insurance companies. They will offer a minimal amount up front, usually before anyone has seen a doctor, and get them to settle. I strongly recommend you have a lawyer review what you signed. You may have other theories of recovery. In the future, please get legal counsel before you sign anything like this.

David Leon

David L. Leon, P.C. 3500 Oak Lawn Ave., Ste. 205 Dallas, TX 75219

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search