Legal Question in Personal Injury in Texas

Hi... Approx 5 years ago my wife suffered a fall at work... She was carrying a stack of papers down a flight of stairs and slipped. The fall resulted in 5 herniated discs in her back along with neck/shoulder pain & stiffness. She is in pain day & night ever since the fall. She didn't go for workers comp at the time for fear if losing her job, but regrets it now as her workplace never allowed her to return to work as a light duty worker. Is there ANYTHING she can do now or is she way passed the time limits for a lawsuit?

Asked on 10/13/13, 3:57 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Roger Merrill Merrill & Associates
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Personal injury claims in TX have a 2 year statute of limitation for adults. If she was younger than 18 at the time, then the period of time is extended. Workers' Compensation claims have specific requirements re reporting. She probably waived that claim by not filing for it. Also, I expect the time for it has passed as well. You may want to speak to someone who handles Comp claims (something I don't do) just to make sure there's nothing you can do.

Read more
10/15/13, 7:23 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Personal Injury Law and Tort Law questions and answers in Texas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88122 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Personal Injury Law and Tort Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Frank NatoliNatoli-Lapin, LLCNew York, NY
David SlaterDavid P. Slater, Esq.Boca Raton, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now