Texas | Personal Injury
Legal Question
should we contact the guilty party to ask for pain and suffering amount?
My fiance was injured at work. The elevators were down, so she was forced to take the stairwell. When she opened the stairwell door she noticed that the lights were out, she had no choice but to use them since the elevators were out. She got to the last flight and that she was already on level ground, but she still had one more flight to go down. She feel down eight concrete stairs and had sprained both ankles severly, bruises on here thighs, and back pain. They had to get EMS to transport her to the emergency room. Another man who had witnessed the whole thing said he had the same thing happen to him in the very same stairwell a few days earlier, and had reported the lights being out to the people who owned the building. I know they are at fault and workmans comp is paying for her medical bills and time off work, but my question is if the owners are responsible how do I get them to pay for her pain and suffering? Do I call them and say hey what are you willing to offer or should I hire an attorney to contact them to scare them? Also, what is a reasonable amount to ask for since my fiance has to go through three weeks of physical therapy to be able to walk on her ankles? please advise ASAP.
Thank You.


