Texas  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
10/29/09, 4:17 pm

Legal Question


I, as a pedestrian was struck by a vehicle on 9/13/09. The insured's company took a recorded statement on 9/16/09, ending the conversation, that they would probably need to send some out to the accident site & after that she (the adjustor) would determine if they accept liability. It has been 30 business day & I have yet to hear from them. Would this be considered a normal time frame, the lack of contact? Do I need to make contact with them or wait? I am still under treatment & therefore do not have any additional information to give them @ this time.


question bubble
11/03/09, 4:31 pm

Legal Answer


The insurance company will always make promises but not fullfill them. They are playing games hoping you will get frustrated and go away.

You should not have any further contacts with the insurance company and sign any insurance company forms. They will use your statement against you to deny or delay the claim or offer less money than you deservce.

You need to contact a Dallas TX personal injury attorney.

For free information on Dallas personal injury claims, please visit www.kiplawfirm.com or send a confidential e-mail to the website or call (214) 800-3454.

Sincerely,

Jason Kipness

Kipness Law Firm
6060 N. Central Expwy #560
Dallas, TX 75206

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/03/09, 5:13 pm

Legal Answer


There really isn't enough information to provide a definitive answer to your question because nothing is "normal." Since you are still receiving treatment six weeks after the incident, it appears that you have more than nominal injuries. If that's the case, you will probably do better by hiring an attorney. Until you have an attorney, the insurance company will continue to give you the run-a-round, and it won't pay fair value on your claim. In a lot of cases, I'll tell clients they can do better without a lawyer, but from the limited information you stated, you should at least talk to someone.

You don't say where you're located, but try and find an attorney in your area that is a member of the Texas Trial Lawyer's Association, and they likely will be able to help you.

Good luck.

Brooks Schuelke

Perlmutter & Schuelke, LLP
1717 w 6th Street ste 375
Austin, TX 78703

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/03/09, 5:52 pm

Legal Answer


Common practice..get a lawyer..call us if you wish..

Donald McLeaish

McLeaish&Associates;, P.C.
402 West Wheatland
Duncanville, TX 75116

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/03/09, 7:16 pm

Legal Answer


Delay is one tactic employed at times by insurance companies.

If I can be of assistance, please contact me at (877) 914-0888. I handle cases throughout Texas.

Roger Merrill

Merrill & Associates
1770 Saint James Place, Suite 410
Houston, TX 77056

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/04/09, 1:37 pm

Legal Answer


Attempting to handle your own personal injury claim with an insurance company is about like performing home brain surgery: you can do it if you want to, but it surely isn't a very good idea. You are in way over your head, and until you retain a personal injury attorney, you will continue getting mistreated and cheated.

Dan Street

Street Law Firm
13101 Preston Road, Suite 600
Dallas, TX 75240-5232

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search