Texas | Personal Injury
Legal Question
To sum things up quickly,
I was hit by another car from behind at a stop sign. It wouldn't seem possible, but the impact was quite hard. I had 4 other passengers in the car with me, all who complained of neck pain from the sudden hit. I was 8 months pregnant, so as you can imagine very worried about the health of my baby. The police came, took a police report, and gave the other driver a ticket for failure to keep a safe distance from my vehicle. I immediately drove to the emergency room. My friends had their necks looked at, and one had a x-ray. I however, was sent to labor and delivery. As you can imagine I am a panic, as they try to find the heartbeat, which took what seems like hours to finally find! I stayed in the hospital for almost 8 hours, having many vials of blood taken, exams, vaginal ultrasound as well as regular ones. I was put on a monitor to watch for contractions, to see if the stress might put me through preterm labor. It was horrible. The hospital seemed to have never ending tests. I was exhausted, tired, had terrible back and neck pain, and eventually just left the hospital. My friends were fine, just given pain medication for their whip flash.
So battling with State Farm, I finally got bumper replaced and the hospital bills payed for. My friends were each given a settlement of 1,200 about 3 months ago. I have just received my offer for a settlement, and it too is 1,200. I don't want to sound ungrateful, but that seems strange that i would be offered the same settlement as my friends who were only in the hospital 3 hours getting pain medication. Not to mention having to go to court, the police station, the collision center, and my doctor. For all the stress that I was put through, and all the unnecessary treatments I had to endure. It just doesn't seem seem fair to me? But I could be wrong! Thats why I am asking for advice. I wouldn't n know what to tell State Farm. And out of the 1,200, i have to pay 249$ to another medical bill. So I would be getting less than everyone. Any advice on what I should say, or should I accept the settlement? Any advice is appreciated.


