Texas | Product Liability
Legal Question
to copyright a product and a logo used
What forms do I need to get to copywrite my candles that I make and the logo that I use. I dont want someone to steal my log and name of my product
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: David Leon |
Re: to copyright a product and a logo used You would need to apply for a trademark. |
|
Read More Answered By: Sarah Grosse |
Re: to copyright a product and a logo used You may be able to trademark the logo and name of your product. First, you need to determine whether you can have exclusive rights to use the name/logo AND whether or not your use infringes upon anyone else's exclusive rights. This is a very important first step because you don't want to invest your resources in using a name that you may later have to change because it infringes someone else's rights (unknown to you at the time you chose the name). This determination can be done by a trademark search. I recommend that you hire an attorney to perform the search and to evaluate the search results. It requires one with experience and knowledge of the trademark laws to evaluate search results and make a recommendation. If you can own exclusive rights to your name/logo, then you (or your attorney) can apply for a trademark. See www.uspto.gov for more details of the trademark process.
If there are unique, artistic elements to the design of your candles (such as, they are carved in a unique way, they are like sculptures) you may explore applying for copyright and/or design patent protection. Copyrights protect artistic works (such as sculpture), and design patents protect unique, ornamental aspects of a design. You can read about copyrights at www.copyright.gov and design patents at www.uspto.gov.
While you can apply for each of these intellectual property rights yourself, I strongly recommend that you retain an attorney to help you. As with so many things, it is so much easier and less expensive to do things right from the beginning rather than try to fix it after mistakes have been made. An attorney will ensure your rights are best protected from the beginning.
Best of luck,
Sarah
P.S. This question should be in the "intellectual property" catagory (or maybe "business") but not "product liability".
|
Top Attorneys in TX
David L. Leon, P.C.
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 1828
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
The Ryals Law Firm
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1216
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
The Brashear Law Firm, PLLC
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 923
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
The Baez Law Firm, P.C.
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 840
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-28
Burdick Law Firm
Alton, IL
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-06
The Lee Law Firm
Austin, TX
Questions Answered: 567
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Cheng Copeland PLLC
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 419
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-24
Mathis & Donheiser
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 394
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-09-29
Charles J. Williamson, Attorney At Law
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 325
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-20
Pfister & Associates
Frisco, TX
Questions Answered: 229
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-10-10
Search Questions and Answers


