Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Texas

abandoned house

in texas can you take adverse possession on an abondoned house. has been vacant almost a year. yard is not being maintained. taxes have not been paid. and the last owner can not be located.

Asked on 6/14/09, 5:40 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Cheryl Rivera Smith The Smith Law Firm
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: abandoned house

To acquire title by adverse possession, you would need to "possess" the property for over 10 years. In the meantime, you would be a mere trespasser.

Read more
6/15/09, 2:35 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Texas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88333 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now