Texas  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
11/13/09, 2:33 pm

Legal Question


My dad died on 02/01/2009. He left no will and testament. I lived in the house with him and my 5 siblings are not contesting that I can live here. The bank wants to foreclose on the house because they know that my dad has died. I have been making the payments in my dad's name.


question bubble
11/18/09, 3:32 pm

Legal Answer


You need to transfer title into your name and clear this up with the bank. If there's no debts, and the family agrees, this can be done fairly easily.

On the foreclosure, I don't think I have the whole story here.

How far along in the foreclosure process are they?

Time isn't on your side. Call me immediately.

David Leon

David L. Leon, P.C. 3500 Oak Lawn Ave., Ste. 205 Dallas, TX 75219

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/18/09, 5:40 pm

Legal Answer


The law provides that the heirs can continue to make the payments. There may be other delinquencies, such as taxes, insurance, upkeep, that violate the terms of the deed of trust. You should contact an attorney to discuss the situation.

Cheryl Rivera Smith

The Smith Law Firm 11660 Creek Point Drive Frisco, TX 75035-8278

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search