Texas  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
1/15/10, 7:19 am

Legal Question


I am filling out a General Warranty Deed for Texas in order to add my husband to our home's title. I was told by a title company that this is the document that I should fill out but I'm not sure what to put before dollars because I'm just adding him to the title, not selling him anything?

KNOW ALL MEN BY THESE PRESENTS, That I, __________________, of the ___________________________ [insert city, town and county], in the state aforesaid, for and in consideration of ___________________________dollars, to me in hand paid by _____________________________, have granted, sold, and conveyed, and by these presents do grant, sell, and convey unto the said _________________________________________, of the ___________________________ [insert city, town and county], in the state of Texas, all that certain:


question bubble
1/20/10, 8:40 am

Legal Answer


The form you are using is reciting facts of a real estate sale. The language is standard. The reason is to have a valid sales contract there must be "consideration" (i.e. the seller must get something out of the transfer). A standard way to fill out the form (in the blank just after "in consideration of....") is to use the following language "good and valuable consideration and ten (10) dollars".

Note that this answer does not examine whether this is the best option for you (it may be). Please note that a sale of property such as this may result in collateral consequences such as but not limited to: tax liability, decreased ownership interest in the event you and your husband become separated by divorce or death, the property may be exposed to your husband's creditors, or other issues depending on your and your husband's exact circumstances.

Good Luck!

Ken Gober (Austin TX)

The Lee Law Firm 11824 Jollyville Road, Suite 302 Austin, TX 78759

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search