Texas  |  Tax Law

question bubble
6/16/03, 5:13 pm

Legal Question


Employment--Contract labor VS Employee for tax purposes

I would like to know exactly what the criteria is for determing whether a person is contract labor or an employee as far as the IRS is concerned?? I worked for an individual managing his apt complex for almost 13 years and he always paid me contract labor--in which I was responsible for my own taxes--my mother has now worked for him for almost 15 years and has the same question--is he not responsible for part of our SS and medicare??


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search