Legal Question in Tax Law in Texas

lien on homestead

the irs has filed a lien on my home for unpaid employment taxes incurred by a company of which i was an investor (8% share).

the person running the business

did not pay the irs and now they have filed a lien on my home (there were a total of 6 owners, only one other owner has had a lien placed on their residence). my question is, can i sue the other 4 owners for their portion of taxes owed BEFORE

i've paid off the irs ?? or do i have to sell my home first, let the irs take

their money off the top of the sale,

then turn around and sue the other owners ?? also, what are the statutes of limitation on my being able to recover $ from the other owners ? is it from the date the lien was put on my property or

the date from when the taxes were

not paid (which we were unaware of). we are have been trying to resolve w/the irs but no luck. wondering if better to fight other owners to get them to pay their share of the taxes than spending $$$ fighting the irs (irs says its a joint and sever situation, too bad for us, even tho we never worked there, received any type of compensation, or had any access to anything financial at the company). appreciate any info you can provide.

thanks!!

Asked on 5/23/07, 2:43 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: lien on homestead

Yes it is possible though it is very critical.

If you are interested to get consultation please contact directly.

Read more
5/24/07, 1:37 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Tax and Taxation Law questions and answers in Texas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88273 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Tax and Taxation Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now