Legal Question in Tax Law in Texas

I received a statement in the mail from Hawk Electronic, a bankrupt former cellular provider. It says I owe $75.31 in uncollected TX sales tax for the years 2006-2008. They are asking me to send it to them, not the state. If I do it right away, the amount will be reduced to $60. Send the money?

Asked on 10/02/13, 7:50 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Greg Wiley Law Office of Greg Wiley PLLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

I would be skeptical. I cannot understand why a company is trying to collect sales tax from you. Send a verification letter. It is something that would need to be reviewed.

Read more
10/03/13, 12:37 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Tax and Taxation Law questions and answers in Texas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8822 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Tax and Taxation Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now