Texas  |  Veterans Law

question bubble
6/12/09, 4:04 pm

Legal Question


SS Disability and VA Compensation

My husband just filed for VA Compensation due to Diabetes Type 2 and Severe Neuropathy.He was in Vietnam from 69-71. I want to know if he should also file for SS Disability at this time. He also has a ICD/Pacemaker and High Blood Pressure. The doctors tell him he should not work anymore because he is a painter and can no longer climb ladders or get on his knees. He has to take Gabapentin and Hydrocodone for the pain.


question bubble
6/12/09, 4:39 pm

Legal Answer


Re: SS Disability and VA Compensation

He should definitely file for SS also. He'll probably get those benefits sooner than VA benefits, but he is entitled to both. If he gets a denial on the new claims, feel free to contact me if you need more assistance.

Jill Mitchell

Heard & Smith, LLP 3737 Broadway, Suite 310 San Antonio, TX 78209

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search