Texas  |  Veterans Law

question bubble
10/20/10, 2:08 am

Legal Question


I am the widow of a100% service connected disabled (medically retired from the/by US Army) Viet Nam vet and I myself am a USAF honorably discharged veteran. I am disabled (not service connected) and collect social security.We were legally married in TX. I have a US Military Dependent ID card/DEERS. My husband died 3/2007.The VA paid me Death/burial reimbursement and the VA paid $80,000.00 to my mortgage company on my Mortgage/Death Indemnity Benefit (was supposed to pay off the mortgage but did not)I have applied and reapplied for my survivors pension benefit that is legally due me and cannot get anyone to help me. Also, though applied for when my husband was alive- we never recieved a dime of the Dependant benefit either. I was told there would be no back pay because it was 'his' benefit In the meantime, I lost my home, which i only owed 26,000.00 on. Much more to it than just this. I cant seem to get any help or an attorney that will help me, I am of limited funds. Can I sue the VA for damages as well as my benefits? What do I have to do to get someone to help and please don't say your Congressman because they didn't even afford me the acknowledgement of a letter and told me 'They were awawre of my situation ' when I called.I lost my husband and my home, PLEASE HELP ME. Thanks kindly-Grateful for any help, TX


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search