Texas  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
11/14/09, 4:12 pm

Legal Question


In about 1992 as best I recall, I prepared a living trust document for my widowed mother. The document was duly signed, witnessed and notarized. My mother is the trustee and I am the successor trustee.

In 2007 my mother became mentally incompetent by virtue of Alzheimers, and in December of that year she was committed to an Alzheimers Unit.

Now I need to perform some of the duties of successor trustee, but I have been unable to locate the executed copy of the trust document. I have an undated and unexecuted copy that I kept for my records.

Is there any way I can have that copy authenticated for use in lieu of the lost executed copy, and if not, how can I prove that I am in fact the successor trustee?


Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search