Texas  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
11/13/09, 8:51 am

Legal Question


My aunt passed away this week. She never married and had no children. She left everything (in her will) to my mother, her sister. My aunt used the family house as collateral to consolidate her bills about 12 years ago. Can my mother continue to make the payments and keep the house?


question bubble
11/18/09, 9:34 am

Legal Answer


Your mother needs to probate the will first. If she gets the house per the terms of the will, then she can pay the mortgage or HELOC on it and keep it.

David Leon

David L. Leon, P.C. 3500 Oak Lawn Ave., Ste. 205 Dallas, TX 75219

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/18/09, 10:36 am

Legal Answer


Yes.

Cheryl Rivera Smith

The Smith Law Firm 11660 Creek Point Drive Frisco, TX 75035-8278

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/19/09, 9:43 am

Legal Answer


yes but if the will is not probated within 4 years, she may lose all..depending on possible otehr heirs..s

Donald McLeaish

McLeaish&Associates;, P.C. 402 West Wheatland Duncanville, TX 75116

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search