Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Texas

Family Law

My brother received durable power of attorney over our father for medical and financial. My father has since passed away. Is the financial POA still in effect and does it override my fathers Will? I am listed as Executor of the Will. The Durable POA has not been recorded with the County Clerks Office. The Will has been filed with Probate Court.

Asked on 7/15/08, 12:02 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Patricia F. Bushman BUSHMAN LAW OFFICES
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Family Law

Powers of attorney die at the same time their maker does. Wills trump!

Read more
7/15/08, 3:53 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Texas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8782 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now