Texas | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
my father passed away and we need to transfer property from his name to my moms name. we did a muniment of title only. she is in a nursing home and we have power of attorney. will a quitclaim work?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: David Leon |
I'm not really sure of the issues here, as an MT will clear title from the deceased person to the person listed in the will. Don't do a quitclaim, they almost never satisfy a title company down the road. You may likely need a type of warranty deed, though I can't really tell from your fact pattern. Because your power of attorney dies with the power grantor, you shouldn't chance it doing it by yourself. Get a lawyer or title company to do this properly, while the power grantor is still alive. In many cases, you can get this done correctly for a few hundred dollars. |
Top Attorneys in TX
McLeaish&Associates;, P.C.
Duncanville, TX
Questions Answered: 2501
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
David L. Leon, P.C.
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 1828
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
BUSHMAN LAW OFFICES
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 1632
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-19
Law Office of S. Keith Engelke
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 1565
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
The Ryals Law Firm
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1216
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
The Brashear Law Firm, PLLC
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 923
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
The Baez Law Firm, P.C.
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 840
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-28
The Lee Law Firm
Austin, TX
Questions Answered: 567
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Bob Leonard Law Group, PLLC
Fort Worth, TX
Questions Answered: 490
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-16
Law office of Basil Hoyl
Bedford, TX
Questions Answered: 422
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-06
Search Questions and Answers


