Texas  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
10/30/09, 2:52 pm

Legal Question


I inherited a house from my father. My stepmother has a life time estate in the house as a surviving spouse. Does my stepmother have to maintain the house? Does my stepmother have to pay the property taxes on the house?


question bubble
11/04/09, 5:07 pm

Legal Answer


Technically, yes. But don't let it get foreclosed for delinquent taxes. As far as maintenance, you may want to protect your investment if there is a leaky roof, faucet, etc. that would cause further damage.

Cheryl Rivera Smith

The Smith Law Firm
11660 Creek Point Drive
Frisco, TX 75035-8278

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search