Texas | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
Will- Probate assetts and non pr. assetts
In Texas. My father passed away with an estate of 10 million. the IRA of 8 million didnt make it into the estate. the estate is bankrupt without it. The only probate assett in the estate is a home appraised at 1 million in the country of Costa Rica. The surviving spouse, ( marriage to my father of only 9 days prior to his death) was not willed any portion or proceed to the home. We each were willed 25% of the IRA in which we cannot collect as it belongs to my brother by direct beneficiary designation. Can a probate judge rewrite or change the conditions of a will to give the step mother a portion of the home to allocate her missing out on the 25% of the IRA? My brother was designated 50% owner of home and I 40% , the rest to grandchildren.


