Texas  |  Workers Comp

question bubble
11/14/09, 10:02 am

Legal Question


I work in a food establishment in a hospital. I became sick, running fever, coughing and diarrea and told my supervisor I needed to go home. They okayed me to go home. In the Texas Food Handlers rules, doesn't it suggest that anyone that is sick should be sent home to prevent spread of the germ through the food to the patients or whoever is eating the food? I did go home after comming to work and attempting to do my scheduled job but couldn't because i was just too sick to work. In a department meeting in the past my manager did say if you come to work and have to leave due to sickness or whatever, you would not get a point against your attendance since you did make an effort to be there. I missed the rest of that day and the next but returned the 3rd day only to be fired because of my attendance record. Is this legal to be fired even when the food handlers suggested under the conditions i had i should not be working around food?


question bubble
11/19/09, 10:16 am

Legal Answer


Unfortunately one can be fred without a reason..and you should be praised but the employer can fire even without that reaston

Donald McLeaish

McLeaish&Associates;, P.C. 402 West Wheatland Duncanville, TX 75116

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search