Legal Question in Intellectual Property in United Kingdom

Quoting literature in movies

What is the law on quoting a short passage from a book in a movie? Does permission have to be gained from the writer/writer's estate/publisher?

Asked on 9/25/05, 4:29 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Richard Howard Richard Howard & CO
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Quoting literature in movies

Yes unless the film is a criticism or review of the work that you are quoting

Read more
Answered on 9/26/05, 1:58 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Intellectual Property questions and answers in United Kingdom

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88403 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Intellectual Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now