Utah | Family Law
Legal Question
help
Mom got colon cancer, I took care of her for 21/2yrs in sister home. mom left no will only instructions on what to do when she died. Mom died Friday. Sister is upset and threatening legal action cause I cleaned out moms room without sisters permission. Most of what mom had she & I took care of while she was alive only a few clothes,pic, books, bedding remained. Saturday with sis present I finished room as mom wanted. mom to be buried in NM next to her dad. I was to see to cremation and give sis ashes to take. She upset cause man at funeral home said he could only give ashes to me cause I asked him to. Tried to resolve issue w/ sis but what leg do I have to stand on? Also taking care of mom's last financial things like bills, sending back checks and closing bank account. In 2006 mom gave me $23000 from sale of her home, $1000 to brother and $3000 to my son. nothing to sister. Mom had me write checks on her behalf and during this last week gave me another $4800 4 days before she died.. But I wrote the checks for this with her permission, but mom is not here to verify. Can sister bring charges against me?


