Utah  |  Appeals and Writs

question bubble
3/05/07, 10:27 am

Legal Question


unemployment overpayment

In 1998, I lost my job and went on unemployment. I was taken off after 3-4month's. They stated I no longer qualified. In december of 2006, I receive a phone call that I owe them money (1625.00) for overpayment. I ask them for the documentation to verify this and they tell me they cannot locate it , however the computor says I owe. I said, find the paperwork and we can resume talking, otherwise leave me alone. Then on 2-04-07 I notice that a garnishment is being taken out of my check! I received court papers on 3-01-07 stating I had one week to answer to these charges. My question is, isn't there a statute of limitations? It's been nine years! Second question: if they have no documentation, how can they get clearance to garnish my wages? Thank you for your time, sincerely, frustrated in utah


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search