Utah | Criminal Law
9/28/09, 12:04 am
Legal Question
When and how do you request a trial by jury? And how do you get a public defender?
When and how do you request a trial by jury? And how do you get a public defender?
|
Read More Answered By: Randy B. Birch |
if a felony you get a jury trial unless specifically waived. If a misdemeanor, you must request one. As an attorney I always request a jury when I make my appearance.
Public defenders are appointed or not usually at the first appearance where there is a judge. If a misdemeanor, at the arraignment. If a felony at the "first appearance". Different courts may call them different things. Sometimes they will be appointed later if the defendant initially wants to hire counsel and later finds out he cannot, or changes his mind, etc. |
Salt Lake City, UT
Questions Answered: 43
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-03-08
Salt Lake City, UT
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Ogden, UT
Questions Answered: 20
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-11-12
Salt Lake City, UT
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-31
Salt Lake City, UT
Questions Answered: 12
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-02-25
Sandy, UT
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Salt Lake City, UT
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Draper, UT
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
► I would like to know if a (non) or custodial parent is living with the same sex...
► In the state of utah when did murder became a 1st degree felony?
► Under 18yrs. of age are convictions carried over to your adult record?
► I would like to know how to go about getting a charge on my criminal history...
► If someone (minor or adult) threatens someone else with bodily harm, what are the...
► How do i go about entering into a plea in abeyance for a theft class b misdemeanor?
► Can I retract a statement that I made to the police? My husband had taken a few too...
More Criminal Law questions and answers in Utah| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press