Utah  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
11/16/09, 12:44 am

Legal Question


In Utah, what is the penalty for not telling a Police Officer the complete truth ?


question bubble
11/21/09, 1:42 am

Legal Answer


To give you an accurate answer, I would need more information. Generally, there are two laws in Utah that address giving false statements to police.

The first is Utah Code Ann. 76-8-506, Providing false information to law enforcement officers, government agencies, or specified professionals. Violating this section is a Class B misdemeanor which means up to six months in jail and a $1000 fine. Realistically, you probably would not do jail time and would get a relatively nominal fine.

The second is Utah Code Ann. 76-8-306, Obstruction of justice in criminal investigations or proceedings. This section deals with lying to police officers about your specific knowledge of a crime with the intent to hinder that investigation. The penalty here is dependent on the crime the police are investigating.

Remember, you don't have to talk to police. Its always better to remain silent than it is to lie.

Kelly Ann Booth

Law Offices of Kelly Ann Booth 299 S Main St, 13th Floor Salt Lake City, UT 84111

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/21/09, 9:00 am

Legal Answer


Amen to Kelly's comment! I would take it even a step further: DO NOT TALK TO COPS. It is not just criminal defense lawyers that say this but former cops and Judges too. If you have not already listened to it, please click on this link. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i8z7NC5sgik If it does not work, go to youtube and type in "Don't talk to cops" and spend the best 42" you have spent in a long time.

Randy B. Birch

Attorney at Law 114 South 200 West, PO Box 763 Heber City, UT 84032

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search