Utah  |  Family Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 2/03/12, 2:51 am

My ex husband and I divorced while I was pregnant with our son, due to his drug abuse, seven years ago. He is court ordered to pay child support, keep a life insurance policy, and health insurance for our son. He has never done any of this. He hasn't filed a tax return on the past seven years, either. He lives with his parents, working under the table. He never contacts my son, sees him once a year, always supervised. I believe him to still be using drugs and he has served jail time for multiple drug offenses. He owes over $8,000 in child support. He even recently got remarried but never told his son. We now do not know where he is living. I would like to know if I could involuntarily terminate his parental rights. Every time the topic is mentioned to his parents, they get say he will refuse. But my fiance, who has basically been my son's father for the past three years, would like to adopt him once we are married. This would also help me stop worrying, because I do not want my son to go to my ex husband if anything were to happen to me.

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

196 Answers given in the last few hours.

7577 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search