Utah  |  Family Law

question bubble
3/14/03, 1:16 pm

Legal Question


Help my husband is trying to make me responsible for his debts

I have been separated from my husband for 6 years and now he is filing for divorce. He tried sending them to an address I was at but I never recieved them. i finally called him after 6 years and he said it would be an easy divorce. I just recieved the petition for divorce today and in it he is trying to make me responsible for 2 of the debts he incurred. One is for a financial services the other is for his Uncle that helped him consolidate bills after I left my husband.

Also he is trying to get part of my 401 k Plan that I had from a previous job at the time I left him. I didnt even know I had a 401k plan still.

Also I noticed on the divorce papers that his brother- in law is the notarary!!! Can he do this and what can I do ? lease help i only have 30 days to send a written statement back to the judge.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search